bob-clean

Name

bob-clean - Delete unused workspace, attic and shared directories

Synopsis

bob clean [-h] [--develop | --release | --attic | --shared]
          [-c CONFIGFILE] [-D DEFINES] [--dry-run] [-f] [-s]
          [--all-unused] [--used] [--sandbox | --no-sandbox] [-v]

Description

The bob clean command removes workspace directories from previous bob-dev and bob-build invocations that are not referenced anymore by the current recipes. It can also remove attic directories that are wasting precious disk space.

The command has several modes of operation. By default develop mode related workspaces are garbage collected. In release mode (--release) workspaces that were created by bob build are cleaned. Giving the --attic option removes attic directories that were created by bob dev. Lastly the --shared option will cleanup the optionally configured shared package location.

The identification of the unreferenced workspace directories is based on the current recipes, user configuration files and environment definitions. You should therefore pass the same options to bob clean (-c, -D) that you would also pass to bob build resp. bob dev. If in doubt use --dry-run to see what would be deleted.

Workspaces that hold source code are never deleted by default. Add the -s option to consider these workspace directories too. Bob will still check each SCM in an unreferenced workspace for modifications. If the SCM checkout has been modified in any way (e.g. changed or untracked files, unpushed commits) then the workspace is kept. Use -f to also delete such workspaces too.

In contrast to the other modes the --shared option does not work on the project directory itself but the shared packages location. If no quota was configured the command will do nothing by default. Otherwise all unused packages will be removed (from oldest usage to newest) until the quota is met. If no unused packages are remaining (i.e. all other packages are still referenced by a project workspace) the quota could still be exceeded. To remove older packages too in such a case, add the --used option. To remove all unused packages, regardless of the quota, use the --all-unused option.

Options

--develop
Clean develop mode (bob dev) directories. This is the default.
--release
Clean release mode (bob build) directories.
--attic
Remove attic directories.
--shared
Delete packages from shared location.
-c CONFIGFILE

Use additional user configuration file. May be given more than once.

The configuration files have the same syntax as default.yaml. Their settings have higher precedence than default.yaml, with the last given configuration file being the highest.

-D VAR[=VALUE]
Override default environment variable. May be given more than once. If the optional VALUE is not supplied the variable will be defined to an empty string.
--all-unused
Normally unused packages from a shared location are only deleted if the quota is exceeded. Use this option to delete all unused packages to free even more disk space.
--dry-run
Don’t delete, just print what would be deleted.
-f, --force

Remove source workspaces that have unsaved changes in their SCM(s).

Warning

Using this option will result in data loss if there are unsaved changes in checkout workspace directories. Use with great care.

-s, --src

Clean source workspaces too. By default only build and package workspaces are considered.

Attention

You should double check with --dry-run that no unintended workspaces are actually deleted. While Bob can check SCMs that it knows it cannot detect all modifications, e.g. changes to extracted tar files.

--used
If a package is still used by a project on the machine it is not deleted by default even if the quota is still exceeded. By giving this option such packages are considered too. Note that this will most likely lead to rebuilds/downloads of packages in the affected projects.
-v, --verbose
Print what is done.